American Society of Cinematographers re-elects Stephen Lighthill as President –

On Monday, the American Society of Cinematographers’ Board of Governors re-elected Stephen Lighthill as president for a third one-year term.

The news comes as the ASC board is holding its 2022-23 officer election. Lighthill will work alongside vice presidents Amy Vincent, John Simmons and Shelley Johnson; Treasurer Steven Poster; Secretary Greg Heschong; And Sergeant-in-Arms Chris Chomin.

“As an organization, we are focused on education, continuing to improve safety practices, and further expanding our diversity and outreach efforts,” says Lighthill. “The past year has presented many challenges for our community, and we are proud of how our members have met these challenges while telling stories in new places.”

The ASC board members elected by the organization’s active membership include Curtis Clark, Richard Crudo, Steven Fearburg, Michael Goe, Ed Lachman, Patty Lee, Charlie Lieberman, Lowell Peterson, Lawrence Sher, John Toll and Robert Euman. John Bailey, Eric Stilberg, Jim Danielt, Patrick Cody and Dana Gonzalez are alternate board members.

Lighthill’s DP credit included Gimmy Shelter And Berkeley in the sixties (The latter was nominated for an Oscar in 1991) and TV Nash Bridge, Among others. He was the Chair of the Cinematography Discipline at the American Film Institute Conservatory and an official on the National Executive Board of the International Cinematographers Guild.

The ASC has more than 430 members from 20 countries, with more than 260 associate members from industry affiliates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.